Australian Interstate Photographic Competition


The Australian Interstate Photographic Competition is not an APS Competition as such. However, APS has a co-ordinating role and provides Herbert Bronze Medallions to the winning exhibit in each section and Merit Certificates to the top five exhibits in each section, as well as the Alan Moran Trophy for the winning State or Territory.   A copy of the 2016 catalogue may be downloaded: pdf AIPC Catalogue 2016 (2.04 MB)

The Alan Moran trophy perpetuates the name of the APS’s first Secretary and was established in 1989 when the annual competition was known as the Allied Camera Clubs competition.

Each State and Territory of Australia is eligible to submit an entry each year with the organisation of the competition rotating around to coincide with the State or Territory in which APSCON is being held. Since 1997 most States and territories have supported the competition regularly.

Each State or Territory’s entries comprise monochrome and colour prints and digital images selected from submissions by members of photographic clubs in their State or Territory. The six State Bodies that co-ordinate photographic clubs in their States look after the selections in the States. In the ACT, the Canberra Photographic Society co-ordinates the selection with assistance from other functioning clubs. The lack of photographic clubs in the NT has made it difficult for that Territory to submit an entry for some years.

Acceptances in a State or Territory entry earn points towards APS Honours for the authors.

Whilst the larger States, with more clubs, have an advantage in that they have more works to select from, it has not always followed that they win the Trophy. The smaller States and Territories benefit from the challenge of seeking to obtain results that might be seen as higher up the ladder than they might naturally expect.

The images, both prints and digital, are all displayed each year during APSCON and a catalogue is made available to all entrants. Whenever possible, the Trophy, Medallions and Certificates are presented at APSCONs following the screening of the digital entries.

The winners of the Alan Moran Trophy since 1989 have been:

1989: New South Wales

1990: Victoria

1991: Victoria

1992: South Australia

1993: South Australia

1994: New South Wales

1995: New South Wales

1996: Victoria

1997: South Australia

1998: Victoria

1999: Victoria

2000: Victoria

2001: Queensland

2002: Queensland.

2003: New South Wales

2004: New South Wales

2005: New South Wales

2006: New South Wales

2007: New South Wales

2008: New South Wales

2009: New South Wales

2010: Queensland

2011: Queensland



2014: Victoria

2015: New South Wales

2016: New South Wales